100 Days of Coding

Challenges make you discover things about yourself that you never really knew.

-Cicely Tyson.


Well, before I answer the above question, I'd like to outline the technologies and tools that will be used for this challenge.

  • Platforms for sharing code: Replit-JerryAkata, GitHub-KingWebs and github.io

  • Programming Languages/technology: Html, CSS, PHP, JavaScript, C, C#, Python, SQL, React,

  • Editor/terminals (Coding IDE): VS code, Visual Studio, Replit

  • key learning documentation: Hashnode Jerry Akata

  • Learning platforms: ALX, FreeCodeCamp, W3S, YouTube, pdf of the outlined Programming languages, documentation

  • Code Debugging: Majorly ChatGPT, Replit

Track this journey on Twitter @JerryAkata_

The rules are simple. Code these 100 days.

So why have I embarked on this popular coding challenge?

Honestly, I wanted to challenge myself. I got into the tech space in 2018, learning html and CSS. From there, I learned other programming languages like JavaScript, C#, and PHP. In 2020, I got into a program at a training Institute where I learnt the .NET framework and all its related technologies. This was where I actually understood how powerful JavaScript is as a language. You can imagine I did lots of projects at this program, yeah, but after the program I really didn't put to practice what I learnt.

All these years, I noticed that there wasn't really any tangible proof of my learning. I jumped from one project to another along my journey, most incomplete. Then, looking for a tech internship in Lagos to make ends meet while I learn was another interesting part for me (I studied Computer Science). All of which yielded little fruit, except that I learnt of a new technology. In 2021, I was introduced to PHP at a startup company. My internship there would have been a huge success if it were a paid internship. I struggled with transport fare back and forth at its location and couldn't keep up. So, I quit! Thought I was going to find another one, but I couldn't. I have done countless online courses and programs; most I didn't complete.

Fast forward to 2023. I still don't have any tangible proof of my being in this tech space. So, here I am, holding my neck with this challenge. Let's have some fun and kill as many bugs as we can. COME ON!